For Providers

For Learners

For Industry


About Us

Search our Site

In the Vanuatu Qualifications Framework (VQF), a Qualification describes what skills you will have once you successfully complete study for this qualification. To get the skills, you will need to enrol in an Accredited Course at a Registered PSET (= Post School Education and Training) Provider that offers the course. If you successfully complete all the different Components (= parts) of the course, then you will gain the qualification.

Each VQF qualification has a level. The level defines the complexity of the skills you will gain when you complete a qualification at a certain level. The higher the level, the more complex the skills will be. 

For example, with a level 1 qualification of Certificate I in Building and Construction (General Construction), you will be able to participate in building and construction projects. You will be able to perform basic tasks, like laying bricks for a wall. You will take instructions from your supervisor on what the wall should look like and how it should be structured.

But, when you have successfully completed the level 4 qualification of Certificate IV in Building and Construction (Supervisor), one of your employment options will be to be the supervisor on the construction site, who determines what work should be done, who should do it, and make sure that it is all done well and according to the plan. You will be the one responsible for the successful completion of the project.

To find out more about the levels of the VQF, continue reading here: The Levels of the VQF.

To download to full document with all the information on the VQF, download the Vanuatu Qualifications Framework document.