For Providers

For Learners

For Industry


About Us


Recognition Services

Search our Site

The VQF is divided into 10 levels from basic study at level 1 all the way up to Master's and PhD degrees at levels 9 and 10. The more complex the study and the more skilled the learner will be, the higher the level.

Levels 1 to 3 are equivalent to years 11 to 13 of secondary school. This means that most of the time, before you can enrol in a course for a qualification at level 1, you will need to have completed year 10 at secondary school.

There are a lot of study opportunities in Vanuatu at level 1 to level 2, for which often completion of year 10 is sufficient. So even if you did not complete year 11 or higher, then you still have plenty of courses to choose from.

It is also possible, to first complete a lower level qualification, for example a Certificate II in Tourism, and then continue with study at a higher level, like a Certificate III in Tourism. This is what is called a Pathway. If you are not yet able to enrol at the level that you really would like to, then you can set out a Path for yourself on how to get there, starting with a qualification at a lower level.

The levels of the VQF are:

Levels Sectors
School TVET Higher Education
10 Doctorate
9 Masters
8 Post Graduate Diploma
Post Graduate Certificate
Bachelor with Honour
7 Bachelor Degree
Graduate Diploma
Graduate Certificate
6 Advanced Diploma Diploma
5 Diploma
4 Vanuatu Form Seven Certificate / SPFSC Certificate IV University Foundation
3 Vanuatu Senior Secondary Certificate Certificate III
2 Certificate II
1 Vanuatu Junior Secondary Certificate Certificate I

For a more detailed description of each Level, see the VQF Level Descriptors document.

Find out more about what Credits are, so you know how much work you need to do, by reading VQF Credit Values.